top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNaila Siraj

Lemon and pistachio tart

I have serious issue following instructions i usually just do what feels right in the cooking, never measured anything except now that i’m sharing ,I have started to measure for you guys

My friend Keeps adding me to these amazing groups and i was trying this recipe of the month and twice in the base i read 1 cup butter instead of 1/2 and though it didn’t look right but I was like ,must be ok !Im following a recipe and lets just say,instead of tart base I sold it as “pistachio halva” to my husband and made him do some praises of how good it was😂😂

Anyway after second almost failed attempt i was like let me fix it so i just started adding more stuff straight out of container with my hands ,so no idea what the final proportions were,but it’”felt right”

And yes it came out amazing eventually

The actual recipe is quite easy if you read it properly 😂😂im copying that from molly o neill’s recipe with the little changes i made

Ibrahim is allergic to pistachios , so I just made and took to my friend’s



INGREDIENTS


THE CRUST:


• 1 cup all-purpose flour


• ¼ cup confectioners' sugar


• ¼ teaspoon kosher salt


• ½ cup cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces


• ¼ cup shelled unsalted pistachios, roughly chopped


THE FILLING:


• 2 eggs


• 1 cup sugar


• ½ teaspoon baking powder


• 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour


• 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

And lemon juice from 11/2 lemons


• 1/2 cup shelled unsalted pistachios


• Confectioners' sugar, for garnish

  • I added just a dash of rosewater too

PREPARATION

1) To make crust, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8-inch or round tart pan Place flour, sugar and salt in a food processor and pulse a few times. i just used a fork on my actual successful attempt Add butter and mix just until well combined. Stir in chopped pistachios. Firmly press mixture into the bottom of the pan and up the sides Bake until lightly browned, about 20 minutes.


2) Meanwhile, whisk together the filling ingredients. When the crust is baked, pour the filling into the pan and bake until set, about 20 minutes. Let cool completely. Sprinkle with confectioners' sugar and any garnishes you like


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page