top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNaila Siraj

Crispiest fried chicken

Fried chicken

Move over popeyes ,my fried chicken is here!!

lol thats what I try to convince my boys with that this is better than popeyes

Dont get me wrong i love fried chicken and once every two year or so have this urge that makes me drive to local popeyes and i stuff myself and then feel sick for next two days, so usually stick to making it at home

The timing for this times craving was great as it was my son’s birthday and he loves everything fried and “unhealthy “

So I felt can be a great mom and give him what he loves😂

And lets be honest no point in trying to make this”healthy version”I would just enjoy the real thing ,as long as its not a daily thing🤷🏻‍♀️ but to each their own😊

I made this with sides of mac and cheese,coleslaw,buttermilk-biscuits,mashed potatoes, fries 😬 and for the non teenagers there was watermelon salad and some veggies 😝



Some tips to make it crisp


  • Always add corn starch to flour mix

  • Let coated chicken sit for half hour before frying

  • Dont stir chicken too much when frying

  • Add club soda or fizzy water to egg mixture or half of flour mixture and dredge in that separately after dry flour , but i skip that as I find that makes it absorb more oil and gives more thicker coating which I personally dont like!


So I made a bit of bigger batch this time as my son’s friends were coming over and I used only chicken legs just for the convenience and that besides my husband no one likes white meat ,right!!

I will give you quantities for one chicken,you can adjust accordingly

  • 1 chicken or 10-12 legs

  • Cold Butter milk or milk with 2tsp white vinegar, u need enough to soak chicken completely

  • 1tbsp garlic powder

  • 1tsp onion powder

  • Paprika 1 tsp

  • 1/2 tsp turmeric just because I put that in everything 😂

  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

  • Cayenne or red chilli powder 3/4-1 tsp

  • Salt 1 tsp

  • Black pepper 1 tsp

Put all in bowl and let marinate,if not covered completely add more milk or buttermilk,best to leave for several hours if possible,i usually marinate a day ago if possible and leave in the fridge

  • Lotttssss of oil for deep frying

  • 3 eggs beaten in a shallow bowl

  • In a shallow dish mix the below ingredients

  • 11/2 cup all purpose flour

  • 1/4 cup corn starch

  • 1tsp salt

  • 1tsp black pepper

  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

  • 1tsp paprika

  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

  • 1 1/2 cups crumbled/crushed corn flakes-optional

Method

  • Prep your dredging station , this is messy so be prepared to get your hands sticky and dirty

  • Take chicken from the buttermilk marinade roll in flour mix then in egg mix and back into flour mix pressing down so adheres well and make sure egg coats all sides too,use 1-2 pieces at a time dont overcrowd the dish

  • Now take a wire rack and let coated chicken sit on it for half hour or longer to get more crisp and even coat

  • Heat oil in pan and when hot add few pieces at a time to deep fry

  • To keep it crispy dont move too much ,I only flip it once ,to get nice crisp golden batter and cooked from inside,initially oil has to be really hot then right away turn it down to medium heat so chicken cooks through

  • Once done remove it on paper towel or better if parchment paper as that keeps it crispy

  • Serve with a squeeze of lemon on top or whatever else you like





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page